The Woods are Lovely, Dark and Deep   2 comments



 

Posted November 4, 2012 by dranilj1 in Landscapes

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “The Woods are Lovely, Dark and Deep

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I memorized this poem by Robert Frost when I was in second grade, and that is a very long time ago now. It’s amazing what rattles around in the old memory banks. Let me see what I can remember of it… “Whose woods are these, I think I know, his house is in the village though. He will not mind me stopping here to watch his woods fill up with snow. The woods are lovely, dark and deep, but I have promises to keep and miles to go before I sleep and miles to go before I sleep. The little horse must think it queer to stop without a farmhouse near, between the lake and frozen woods the darkest evening of the year. He gives his harness bell a shake to ask if there is some mistake, but I have miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep.” I’m sure I’ve left something out, but that’s the general idea. Now I have to go look it up. Thanks for the trip down memory lane and the lovely photo.

Leave a Reply

